How to close Facebook Account Temporarily or Permanently | Cancel My Account On Facebook: Facebook, the largest social media platform in the world is a platform that provides users the opportunity to connect with friends and families, meet new friends, and reach out to potential business clients and customers.
However amazing you think being on Facebook are, there are still other reasons why so many persons may not want to continue with Facebook.
If you are one of those people that are tired of Facebook and would want to close their Facebook account permanently or maybe for a while, I am glad to announce to you that it is possible to do so.
Closing your Facebook account either temporarily or permanently is a feature that is enabled on Facebook.
By closing your Facebook account temporarily, I mean deactivating your Facebook account; and by closing your Facebook account permanently, I mean deleting your Facebook account.
Whatever your reasons are for wanting to close your Facebook account temporarily or permanently, I will quickly show you how to go about it in this article.
What you will also learn in this article is the difference between closing your Facebook account temporarily and permanently.
The reason I will show you this, is for you to know what they truly are and decide what truly you want, so you don’t make a hasty decision without realizing the consequences involved.
Having laid this foundation, lets now quickly dive into the difference between deactivating your Facebook account temporarily and deleting your Facebook account permanently.
Difference Between Temporarily Closing Your Facebook Account and Permanently Closing Your Facebook Account
If you temporarily deactivate or close your Facebook account:
1. You can reactivate it whenever you want
2. People can’t see your timeline or search for you.
3. Some information may remain visible to others (example: messages you sent).
On the other hand, if you choose to permanently close or delete your Facebook account:
1. You can’t regain access once it’s deleted.
2. It may take up to 90 days to delete all your data stored in Facebook backup systems.
3. In the course of these 90 days, your information isn’t accessible on Facebook during this time.
4. Some information, such as messaging history, isn’t stored in your account. This means friends may still have access to messages you sent after your account has been deleted.
5. Copies of some material (for example log records) may remain in Facebook database but are disassociated from personal identifiers.
Now you know the difference between both of them, its then up to you to decide carefully which you want to do.
How To Temporarily Close Your Facebook Account
If you will prefer to just take a break from Facebook and come back later, then I recommend deactivating your Facebook account temporarily.
To do this, follow the process below.
1. Click the drop-down arrow menu button at the top right of your Facebook account.
2. Click Settings, then click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
3. Click Deactivation and Deletion.
4. Choose Deactivate Account, then click Continue to Account Deactivation and follow the instructions to confirm.
How to Reactivating your account:
After you have temporarily closed down your Facebook account, if you wish to come back at any time, simply log into your Facebook account with your email or phone number and password.
However, you’ll need to have access to the email or mobile number you use to log in to complete the reactivation.
How To Permanently Close Facebook Account
Before deleting your account, you may want to log in and download a copy of your information (like your photos and posts) from Facebook. Learn how to download a copy of your Facebook information
The reason you should do that is that, after your account has been deleted, you won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added.
To permanently close your Facebook account, follow the steps below.
1. Click the drop-down menu button at the top right of your Facebook account.
2. Click Settings then click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
3. Click Deactivation and Deletion.
4. Choose Delete Account, then click Continue to Account Deletion.
5. Enter your password, click Continue and then click Delete Account.
Can I cancel my account deletion?
Maybe after you request that your Facebook account is deleted, you have a change of heart, you can stop the deletion process, provided it is not up to a month you initiated the process.
To cancel your account deletion:
1. Log into your Facebook account within 30 days of deleting your account.
2. Click Cancel Deletion.
That’s all guys on How to close Facebook account temporarily and permanently.
I hope this guide on How to close Facebook account temporarily and permanently was helpful?
If you have any issue that you need to contact Facebook support directly before it can be resolved, then follow this guide to contact the Facebook support team.
If you require any further assistance, please use the comment box below. Please share this article if you like it.